Good older telly shows to watch

Today, I decided to take a trip down memory lane and remember almost all of the telly shows I used to watch every day before/after school. I’m pretty certain that you heard for most of these telly shows if not all of them. Like the title indicates all of the telly shows I will mention in this post are older and they’re all finished. Most of the shows are from the past century but if you’re a 90es baby like me than I’m sure you’ve seen at least some of the 12 shows I remembered watching as a child when I started primary school.

FRIENDS

Follows the personal and professional lives of six 20 to 30-something-year-old friends living in Manhattan.

I haven’t met anyone who hasn’t heard of Friends.
I’ve probably seen every episode 20 times and I still love the show as on the day I discovered what it was and seen the first episode.
Many of my friends grew up watching this show (just like me) and some said that they count on their future children watching the show as they grow up as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

REBA

A Southern soccer mom with three kids sees her life come crashing down when she finds out that her dentist husband has impregnated his hygienist. Meanwhile, her 17-year-old “Captain of the Drill Team” daughter is also impregnated by the captain of the football team and intends on keeping the baby.

I used to watch this show every afternoon for a few years when they aired it on the telly. My mum loved to watch it as well so we often saw it together.

 

 

 

FULL HOUSE


After the sudden death of his wife, a young father enlists the help of his brother-in-law and his childhood friend to help him raise his three daughters.

I’ve spent many hours watching this show and I was so happy when they announced the new version. But the original series is original and, to me, better than the new one.
Sometimes on a cosy, rainy afternoon, I lay in my bed with my laptop on my lap and rewatch some of the episodes of this show.

 

 

FAMILY MATTERS

Long-running Perfect Strangers (1986) spin-off series centering on the Winslow family and their pesky next-door neighbor, ultra-nerd Steve Urkel.

I believe that most people are familiar with a bit annoying Steve Urkel and Winslow family who he likes to visit on a daily basis.
Steve is a bit annoying but he’s without a doubt one of my favourite telly characters. I still like to rewatch the entire show from time to time.
 

 

 

ONE TREE HILL

Half-brothers Lucas and Nathan Scott trade between kinship and rivalry both on the basketball court and in the hearts of their friends in the small, but not so quiet town of Tree Hill, North Carolina.

One Tree Hill was the main show during my primary school days. Couple of us watched the show and we constantly talked about it. It aired on the national telly station and it was a disaster when we were in school in the afternoon shift because we couldn’t watch it. Thankfully there was a rerun the next morning so we could catch up and then talk about it at school.

 

STEP BY STEP

Frank Lambert is a construction worker and a single father of 3 kids: J.T., Alicia “Al”, and Brendan. Carol Foster, a beautician, also has 3 children: Dana, Karen, and Mark. After Frank and Carol run into each other on vacation and spontaneously get married, they and their children  have to learn to live together and love each other. It’s not easy, but they are trying to do this step by step.

Again, a show that I used to watch every day after school. It was aired before the episode of Family Matters and after an episode of Full House. That’s how I basically fell in love with all three shows.

 

ER

The lives, loves and losses of the doctors and nurses of Chicago’s County General Hospital.


I remember everyone started to watch this show once a Croatian actor started to play a Croatian doctor on the show. And since I live in Croatia, everyone was suddenly interested in the show. Don’t get me wrong, people watched the show before then but once he appeared, the interest for the show grew.

 

 

DAWSON’S CREEK


Four friends in a small coastal town help each other cope with adolescence.

I started watching this show during a summer vacation years ago and I continued to watch it through entire school year but then they changed the telly schedule and I couldn’t watch it any more so I saw the last episode just last year.





BEVERLY HILLS, 90210

Follows a group of friends living in Beverly Hills, California, from their school days and into adulthood.

Another telly show I discovered during a summer vacation, just not on the same year as I discovered Dawson’s Creek.
I liked the show because it was a bit different than the ones I watched before since it was mostly rich kids and their problems during high school.
I haven’t seen any episodes of this show in years and as I type this, I’m making a mental note to rewatch it sometime in the near future when I get time.



THE NANNY


After being fired from her job and dumped by her boyfriend, a cosmetics saleswoman becomes the nanny to the three children of a rich English widower. As time passes, the two fall for each other.

I rewatched this show not so long ago because there was a rerun on the telly so I started watching it again every morning.
My mum hates Fran’s voice and she can’t hear me watching the show let alone watch it along with me.
While watching it, I still laughed as much as the first time I watched it when I was 10.



MALCOLM IN THE MIDDLE

 

A gifted young teen tries to survive life with his dimwitted, dysfunctional family.

My brother and I loved to watch this dysfunctional family together. Sometimes when we got in trouble with our parents, we used to talk to each other how Malcolm and his brothers are way worse and why did we get in trouble for things that they can do as well. We were young and didn’t quite understand that that’s how telly shows work.



GILMORE GIRLS


A dramedy centering around the relationship between a thirtysomething single mother and her teen daughter living in Stars Hollow, Connecticut.

I loved to watch this show simply because I liked the relationship between Lorelai and her daughter Rory. I wanted to have that kind of a friendship with my mum and I couldn’t be happier that my mum is an amazing friend to me.

 

That would be 12 shows that I used to watch as a child and in my early teen years. Hopefully I reminded you of some of the shows that you watched while you were a child, in your teen years and that maybe you will rewatch them.

Disclaimer: All of the photos and short descriptions are taken from official IMDb sites.

Leave a Reply

