My Favourite Music Videos

It’s no secret that I love listening to music and since I already made a summer playlist a few weeks ago, I decided to do something a bit different today. I will list 20 of my favourite music videos but I will do it a bit differently than I usually do. There’s a lot of segments on MTV or VH1 where they count down music videos and I love to watch that so today I will do the same, I will start with number 20 and simply count down until I get to my all time favourite music video. So unlike playlist posts, today’s songs are in particular order but as always, the song titles are linked to YouTube so you can go and see the video for yourself.

Let the countdown begin!!

20. Hello by Adele
I think that the video goes well with the song and I like it because it’s filmed with sepia effect and that makes it a bit different than the other videos that came out around the same time. I know that a lot of people started hating the song because they played it around 1000 times a day but I still love it and I love it when I turn on the MTV and the video is playing.

19. The Nights by Avicii
I saw the video for the first time when I went to YouTube to listen to the song and I liked it a lot immediately. A guy who goes on an adventure around the world and does a lot of different crazy stuff reminded me of a guy who has a YouTube channel and posts videos of his adventures. But all in all the storyline of the video somewhat follows the lyrics of the song and it looks (and sounds) great.

18. Amnesia by 5 Seconds of Summer
Since I’m a fan of the band and saw a bit of their interviews I watched the video and saw some things that are related to the band that people who just listen to their music wouldn’t know. The beginning of the video represents their first ever band practice. And the rest of the video just shows you how crazy the band members actually are. Since lot of people love to call them a boy band, the guys always incorporate shots of them playing their music into the video.

17. Hot N Cold by Katy Perry
This is one of the first music videos I watched. I don’t remember how old I was but I remember it was summer when I typed its name into YouTube to see the video. I like the idea behind the video since Katy is a crazy bride who decides to chase after her husband to be once he leaves her at the altar. They wanted to make a funny but a bit crazed video and I think that they did a pretty good job.

16. Superheroes by The Script
One of my all time favourite songs but the video for it is only in top 20. I like that the video shows you less fortunate and people who leave in terrible conditions. The best part for me, though, is the message that the video gives. “You’ve been fighting for it all your life, You’ve been struggling to make things right, That’s how superhero learns to fly.” Are the lyrics and in my eyes that’s the message that the video is trying to send out.

15. Love Me Like You by Little Mix
Again a video with a message. This time a message is for young girls since the majority of the fans are young girls. The video shows 4 girls who get asked to the prom by a dreamy guy who ends up standing them up and leaving them at the prom waiting for him all dressed up while he shows up with another girl, not to mention, all 4 girls were invited by the same guy. It tries to send out a message that you don’t need a dreamy guy and that the looks are not everything.

14. Try Hard by 5 Seconds of Summer
Early days of the band and one of their first videos. They didn’t even have a VEVO channel when this video came out but that doesn’t make it less good. I loved the video because it was filmed in an amusement park. The lads are singing on a roller coaster and some other rides. One lyric goes “I play guitar but she’s into drummer.” And all the guys point at the drummer since three of them play guitars. The video is silly and doesn’t really follow the lyrics of the song but it’s funny and I love it.

13. Sugar by Maroon 5
The fact that the band goes around LA and crashes weddings is so funny. The faces of people when they realise that Maroon 5 just crashed their wedding and are now singing to them are priceless. The best thing is when some of them don’t realise who the band is so their delayed reaction is even funnier. Some people do play this song as their first dance but I can’t decide if that’s because of the video or not.

12. One Way Or Another by One Direction
This video is a bit special because the guys filmed it themselves on cameras and donated the money they would usually spent on making a video. The video shows you how silly the guys are because the video is so silly and doesn’t really have anything to do with lyrics. I think that they just wanted to make a video of themselves having fun while traveling because of their album. Like I said they’re being silly and the video is a bit ridiculous but I love it because of that.

11. Perfect by Pink
The theme and storyline of the video is a bit heavy and not everyone will find it suitable. But then again, the lyrics of the song are heavy as well so it wasn’t a surprise to me when I saw the video. Even though the video and its storyline is heavy, there’s a message behind it. It tells you not to care too much about what other people say about you and just be you and do what you want in life. This video is perfect to promote a healthy body image.

10. Mine by Taylor Swift
I love the story line of this video. It follows the lyrics and it shows you a story about young couple and their journey. From the first meeting to them getting married and having a family together.

9. What Do You Got by Bon Jovi
Another amazing video with an amazing story line. The video shows a story about a famous married couple who are a perfect couple in front of the media but once they’re away from the spot light and cameras, you can see a different story. I like it because it shows you that not everything is as it seems in the media.

8. Best Song Ever by One Direction
I’m a bit One Direction fan (if you didn’t already get that from the previous posts) and this is my favourite video of theirs. James Corden who does carpool karaoke wrote the script for it and half of the video is like a sketch and the other half is them singing. They want to send out a message that they won’t change and become a stereotypical boyband. The song is also a soundtrack for their autobiography movie. The funniest thing is seeing them dressed up as old men or a woman.

7. Photograph by Ed Sheeran
I love this video because it shows Ed growing up and it shows photographs and videos from his childhood. You can see him playing the piano then and than it shows a clip of him in a concert now and you can see how far he has come, from a kid learning to play music instruments to an international star who sells out stadiums.

6. Castle On The Hill by Ed Sheeran
Another Ed Sheeran one but I don’t care because this video is amazing. Photograph shows Ed growing up and this one shows a young Ed (young lad from his hometown is playing him) with his friends and the video follows the lyrics of the song. I love the song and I love the video. The only down side is that they had to mute some lyrics for MTV so there’s bits in the video when there’s a picture but no sound. But the video is brilliant with or without a few lyrics that are missing.

5. Wildest Dreams by Taylor Swift
The story line behind this video is so good. I love Taylor’s videos because of the stories that they’re showing. This one shows two actors on the set in Africa that are filming a movie in like thirties. When they’re on a set, they’re having an affair and then when she sees him at the premier, he’s with another woman so Taylor runs away. It’s like a short movie and I love it.

4. Don’t Stop by 5 Seconds of Summer
For this video, the lads decided that they want to create a superhero alter egos. Luke as Dr. Fluke, Calum as Cal Pal, Mikey as Micro-Wave and Ashton as Smash. The lyric video is a comic book and the actual video is them being dressed as superheroes and “fighting” crimes. The lyric video and the actual video have the same storyline and I love both of them. Again a funny video with a funny story.

3. Lego House by Ed Sheeran
By far my favourite video of Ed’s. I love how Rupert Grint is pretending to be Ed. The video shows a crazed fan (Rupert) who likes to think that he’s just like Ed. In majority of the video you can’t even see Ed since the camera follows Rupert. At one point in the video he’s building Lego’s but then he smashes it. I love the video so much that I often go to YouTube and play it just so that I can watch it and enjoy it.

2. I’m Not The Only One by Sam Smith
This video shows a story about a man and wife who live in a suburbs with a perfect life, he goes to work and she’s a housewife. But he’s cheating on her and she pretends that she doesn’t know about it but once he’s gone, she goes a bit crazy and starts to destroy some of his stuff. Once he’s back from work, she pretends that everything is perfect and that she has been waiting for him to get home all day. The story goes perfect with the lyrics of the song and that’s what makes the video, for me, even better.

1.November Rain by Guns N’ Roses
By far my favourite music video of all time. This has been my favourite for a long time and with all new videos coming out, it still remined firmly at the top spot. The song is 9 minute long and in those 9 minutes of the video, you get the whole story that’s amazing. It starts with a wedding but ends with a funeral. I don’t think that the story has much to do with the lyrics but it’s still amazing. The first time I saw the video, I was mesmerised with it and since then I watched it countless times and I love it more and more each time I watch it.

This post was a bit different than my usual music posts but I hope you liked it non the less. Also, if you feel like, go and watch if not all, then some of the videos and hopefully you’ll like them.

