Victorian sponge vanilla cake

Today, I decided to share a recipe for a cake I recently made and loved. It’s easy and the preparation time is relatively low but you do need to wait for quite some time for everything to cool.
It was my dad’s birthday last month and I wanted to bake him a cake so I went to google the recipes for some things I saw last year in Great British Bake Off. That’s how I stumbled upon Mary Barry’s recipe for a victorian sponge. So I used her recipe for the sponge and the recipe my mum’s maid of honour gave me for the cream. I combined the two and made an amazing cake.

Ingredients:
For the sponge you will need:

  • 2 cups of self rising flour
  • 1½ cup of caster sugar
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 (250g) margarine or butter

For the vanilla cream you will need:

  • 5 tbsp of soft flour
  • 6 tbsp of caster sugar
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 600 mL of milk
  • 4 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 pack (12g) of vanilla sugar
  • ½ (125g) of the margarine

You will also need 2 20cm baking tins, some whipped cream and caramel or chocolate sauce for decorating.

First I made the sponge so I could make the cream while the sponge is baking.
You take all the ingredients and put them all together in a mixing bowl and mix it with an electric mixer. You don’t need to separate the eggs, you just put the whole egg into the mixture.
IMG_3898Once the mixture is nice and fluffy, you need to separate the mixture into two 20cm baking tins that you lined with a backing paper and greased beforehand.

 

 

 

 

 

Bake the sponge at 190C for 20 to 25 minutes. It took mine around 20 minutes to be done. Also don’t open your oven before the 20 minutes are up because you can ruin the sponge.
IMG_3909
Once the sponges are out of the oven, put them on the cooling rack and wait for them to be completely cold before using them to assemble the cake.

 

 

 

 

When my sponges were in the oven, I started on my vanilla cream. You need to cook it on the stove like a pudding. You pour 400mL of milk into the saucepan and wait for it to heat up. The rest of the milk (200mL) put in a bowl and add vanilla extract, sugar (both caster and vanilla flavoured) and flour and mix it until all the lumps are gone. Once the milk is heated, pour the mixture into it and mix it on the low heat for 10-15 minutes.
IMG_3907
During cooking, the lumps may appear but that’s normal so you don’t need to be scared that you messed something up.

Once it’s cooked, put clean wrap on top of it so that the crust doesn’t appear on it.

 

 

 

IMG_3910
After the cream is cooled, you need to mix it with ½ of the margarine. Mix it with an electric mixer until smooth.

 

 

 

 

 

 
IMG_3912
Now we can assemble our cake. I used a piping bag to put an equal amount of the cream to all sides of the cake. I also put the cream all around the cake and smoothed it out.

I put whipped cream on top of the vanilla cream that’s all around the cake before decorating the top with the caramel sauce and little swirls which I made with whipped cream.

 

The finished cake:

IMG_3914
Everyone loved the cake and only one piece was left for the second day, we ate most of it after lunch.

If you decide to make it, I hope you will enjoy it as much as my household did.

