Two years ago: Pisa & Florence

Happy Easter to everyone who’s celebrating!! I hope you ate at least one chocolate egg.

Two years ago my grandparents took me and my brother to three day trip to Italy with them for Spring break from school. We visited Pisa, Siena, San Gimignano and Florence and today I wanted to share some of the photos I took with you.

First day when we arrived, we arrived in Pisa and hurried to the leaning tower of Pisa because weather was not on our side and it was ready to pour.

Once the tower gets in your eyesight, you also see a lot of people in different poses trying to get the famous shot of them leaning against the tower or pushing it. I’m not going to lie and say that I wasn’t one of them. I had to have a picture where I’m pushing the tower towards the ground and the second shot I have is me holding the tower on the palm of my hand.
You can go into the tower and clime the steps but you can’t get to the very top of the tower and it’s a bit pricey so we didn’t do that. Most tourists are around the church and the tower but we went past it and went to see the streets that are around it and we walked to the river to see the bridges and that’s when it started raining. Rain didn’t stop me and my brother from shopping, though. We went to souvenir stands and we bought 9 little and 1 bigger replica of the tower so we could give them to our friends, the bigger one proudly holds a place in the kitchen with some other sights from different cities. The little ones were only 1€ each.
Even though the weather was bad and it rained quite heavily, I loved Pisa. Seeing the leaning tower was on my bucket list so I’m glad I got to see it and take a usual must have photo.

 
On the second day, the weather was the same in the morning but then in the afternoon it became really warm and sunny. We visited Siena and then we went to San Gimignano.

For Siena, you need to be a bit fitter because there’s a lot of climbing the hill to get to one of the city’s squares. There’s a circular ‘square’ in the city where once a year there’s a horse race and that race is the tradition for the past few centuries. We had a bit of free time so my brother and I went exploring the smaller streets and nearly got lost. I love the style in which most of the buildings in this part of Italy are built so I really enjoyed looking at different older buildings around the city.
After Siena, we drove to San Gimignano known for it’s many towers, one higher than the other. In San Gimignano, we ate the best ice cream in the world from the worlds first ice cream parlor. I believe that one scoop was a bit over 2€ but I’m not sure, the money is definitely worth it because you get a good amount of the most delicious ice cream I ever tasted. After eating the ice cream we went to buy a magnet and a snow globe because we always buy those two things when we visit a new place so that we can remember it. The side of our refrigerator looks ridiculous with the amount of magnets of all the places we visited on it.

 
On the last day we went to Florence. And the last day was the sunniest.

First we saw the cathedral from the outside which sadden me a bit because I wanted to see the art inside. We saw the replica of Michelangelo’s David that’s in front of the art museum “Bargello”. The real statue is inside but the line was too long to wait to go and see it.
Florence was a home to many famous painters, such as Michelangelo and Leonardo Da Vinci and many more. I feel in love with Florence even before visiting it, we studied the architecture of Renaissance in art class and I feel in love with it then so I’m really glad I got to see everything I learned about with my own two eyes.
After sightseeing, I found Sephora and shopped some bits and pieces before my granddad took us for lunch right next to the cathedral. I don’t remember the name of the place but I certainly remember the pizza because that was the best pizza I ate, not just in Italy but ever. I wouldn’t mind going there again just for pizza, but this time I would probably insist on visiting the art gallery.

 
All in all, I loved this trip, I love visiting Italy and discovering new places. Hopefully I get to go again in the future and next time seeing the real David and not just the replica outside.

